Creating Music Store with VS2008 and SQL Server 2008 express

Jul 27, 2010 at 3:09 PM

First of all thanks to Jon for providing this tutorial on creating a website using the MVC design. I'm new to this way of doing things but have come from .NET 2.0 WebForms background. I wanted to create the Music Store using Visual Studio 2008 and SQL Server 2008 Express to see what the differences were between .NET 3.5 and v 4.0. I am near the end of the tutorial and it is working fine so far.

Here are some initial comments/observations if anyone is interested to hear about my experiences. :

1) Ensure the SQL Server instance is set up correctly. Firstly the home page does not explicitly say for SQL Server version 2008. Of course installing VS 2008 would also install SQL Server 2008 express by default, but as I had to put this onto my development PC I already had SQL Server 2005 standard (named instance) on it and SQL Server 2005 express.

I noticed a few people had problems setting up the database. I tried to initially install the .mdf onto my SQL Server 2005 standard version, but I got the error about"... MvcMusicStore.mdf was version 655. This server supports server version 612 and earlier...".
So to resolve this I simply installed the database software for SQL Server 2008 express. As I had already had the SQL Server 2005 management tools I didn't need to download them . Then I had to attach music store .mdf and ensure the paths were correct on the attach database screen. I had to edit the path as it contained a path that existed on Jon's PC, which obviously didn't exist on my PC.

Also I ensured my visual studio 2008 environment was configured to use my SQL Server 2008 express instance and not the default instance of SQL Server 2005 express. This was done via Tools/Options/Database Tools/Data Connections.