Framedata provider

Dec 22, 2010 at 7:13 AM

Hi
I´m a total beginner at this, but are following the tutorial with no problem untill now.

I don´t get the connection to the database to work. Even if I try the complete music store I get the error, Framedata provider not installed.

I´ve searched on internet without any luck.

Can someone please point me in the right direction so I can countinou this great toutorial?!

Thanks

//Johan (Sweden)

Coordinator
Dec 23, 2010 at 3:53 AM

I've never seen a framedata provider error on ASP.NET. Can you copy the full error message here?

Jan 3, 2011 at 10:41 AM

I´m not sure that this is what you wanted, but this error occur when I try to add the *.mdf file in App_data folder.

----

An error occurred while processing the local data file:
Unable to find the requested .net framework Data Provider. It may not be installed.

---

If I then press OK and continue to create the StoreDB.edmx I don´t have any connection as I should have according to the tutorial. 

Coordinator
Jan 11, 2011 at 5:50 PM

It sounds like you may not have SQL Server Express installed then. You can use another instance of SQL Server, or you can install SQL Server Express from here: http://www.microsoft.com/express/Database/

Apr 21, 2011 at 10:47 AM

I think you need SQL Compact as well http://www.microsoft.com/sqlserver/2008/en/us/compact.aspx

Coordinator
Apr 29, 2011 at 5:40 PM

You need SQL Compact for Version 3 of the tutorial and later. Part 1 now includes a section which lists the required software and how to get your workstation set up.

Apr 30, 2011 at 10:47 AM

Hello Jon This is an excellent tutorial . I have been following this from version 2 and 2.1 of the code. I have similar issues .

.I have  installed the above software( SQL Server Express 2008 RC2 and the SQL Compact  Version 3.2)  .I have included the stack trace below.    

Server Error in '/' Application.
Unable to find the requested .Net Framework Data Provider.  It may not be installed.