Integrating SQLServer Express

Oct 24, 2011 at 9:49 PM

I'm trying to reverse-engineer the completed (3.0b) project and integrate an external SQL Express db.

I've created the db with the included script

I've changed the connection string to:

connectionString="Data Source=.\Dev;Initial Catalog=MvcMusicStore;Integrated Security=True"
     providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"/>

In Global.asax I've added 'Database.SetInitializer<MyAppEntities>(null);' as is referenced on another thread.

I know i have several of the ducks correctly lined up because breakpoints show valid (populated) objects at the HomeController's Index method. However, the next step ( return storeDB.Albums) results in Invalid object name 'dbo.Albums'

I'm brand new to EF and not that deep in ORM but, based on the Album/Albums discrepancy (singular in the db and plural when the breakpoint hits)  it looks like the plumbing between EF and the DB is missing some requisite pipe. But since stuff compiles and at least _some is working correctly .... i'm stuck and highly appreciative of any help.

at System.Data.EntityClient.EntityCommandDefinition.ExecuteStoreCommands(EntityCommand entityCommand, CommandBehavior behavior)
   at System.Data.Objects.Internal.ObjectQueryExecutionPlan.Execute[TResultType](ObjectContext context, ObjectParameterCollection parameterValues)
   at System.Data.Objects.ObjectQuery`1.GetResults(Nullable`1 forMergeOption)
   at System.Data.Objects.ObjectQuery`1.System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable<T>.GetEnumerator()
   at System.Data.Entity.Internal.Linq.InternalQuery`1.GetEnumerator()
   at System.Data.Entity.Infrastructure.DbQuery`1.System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable<TResult>.GetEnumerator()
   at System.Collections.Generic.List`1..ctor(IEnumerable`1 collection)
   at System.Linq.Enumerable.ToList[TSource](IEnumerable`1 source)
   at MyApp.Controllers.HomeController.GetTopSellingAlbums(Int32 count) in F:\Code\MyApp\MyApp\Controllers\HomeController.cs:line 28