Shortcut method of building a Code First project

Jun 30, 2012 at 2:42 AM
Edited Jul 2, 2012 at 10:54 PM

To Jon Galloway,

Jon I would like to express my appreciation for your MusicStore tutorial, it has been a great help to me in learning MVC, EF and Razor. I am not a developer, but I like programming with VS 2010 Express, Visual Basic, WPF, MVC, EF and Razor; this is my hobby. Since I retired in 1997 my vocation has been my MVC website at bobagans.org, and since you state on the Acknowledgments page of Professional ASP.NET MVC 3 that you look to "Philippians 4:4-9 for continually reminding me which way is up," you may find it of some interest.

The way that I use your tutorial is to copy your instructions in a word processor file, then I translate the C# code into VB and add it to my file; this gives me a chance to become more acquainted with C#, Razor and what the various sections of code accomplish in the application. I downloaded a VB version of MusicStore so I can compare them and learn. I realize that it would require a book to fully explain your tutorial, so I have settled down to doing some research and experimenting which lead me to using the shortcut method below. Many thanks for the effort you have put into developing this great and thorough tutorial.

Bob

Here’s a shortcut method to building a Code First project. Instead of starting with an empty project template, as Jon does in his tutorial, we will start with an Internet Application project template, just as Jon does in the book he coauthored, Professional ASP.NET MVC 3 on page 70. We then create the Classes and StoreManagerController before we create the StoreController. Here are the steps that I used:

1. Build a new MvcMusicStore project with an Internet Application template, and add the latest Entity version

2. Add an Artist class and add the code in Jon's tutorial

3. Add a Genre class and add the code in Jon's tutorial

4. Add an Album class and add the code in Jon's tutorial