The connection name 'DefaultConnection' was not found in the applications configuration or the connection string is empty.

Dec 3, 2012 at 9:29 PM

I am brand new to coding, so please let me know if there is additional information that I can provide to help troubleshoot my problem.

I am currently receiving the following error when I attempt to run the ASP.NET Configuration > Security as described on page 82 and 83 of the pdf guide:

There is a problem with your selected data store. This can be caused by an invalid server name or credentials, or by insufficient permission. It can also be caused by the role manager feature not being enabled. Click the button below to be redirected to a page where you can choose a new data store. 

The following message may help in diagnosing the problem: The connection name 'DefaultConnection' was not found in the applications configuration or the connection string is empty. (C:\Users\Nick\Documents\Visual Studio 2012\Projects\MVCStoreTestWebApp\MVCStoreTestWebApp\web.config line 43)

So far, I have followed the instructions exactly, and short of a few variances between VS2010 and VS2012, I haven't had any issues.

Please let me know what I can do to resolve this issue or let me know what additional information I can provide.

Thanks!  - Nick

Dec 5, 2012 at 1:18 PM

I haven't gotten a response yet, so I thought I would add some more detail.  I'm currently running VS2012 Ultimate and SQLServer 2012.

In the web.config, I had to modify what was in the guide to the following in order to get it to work:

<connectionStrings>
    <add name="MusicStoreEntities"
         connectionString="Data Source=davinci-vostro;Initial Catalog=MvcMusicStore;Integrated Security=True"
         providerName="System.Data.SqlClient" />
</connectionStrings>